Blackberry Pie Brunch

Despite my attempts to try to eat healthy, sometimes my sweet tooth wins out and my hand is forced to make a dessert. One such treat that I can never seem to pass up is a blackberry pie–one of my childhood favorites.

This past weekend, Dan and I hopped in the car and headed out to Larriland Farm in Woodbine, MD to pick our own produce. After filling the car with blackberries, peaches, tomatoes, and fresh ears of corn, I knew that the first thing I was going to do was bake a delicious blackberry pie.

I have fond memories of going blackberry picking with my dad out in our backyard and along the nearby railroad tracks and then helping my mom bake the berry pie. We would line coffee cans with plastic bags, put on our long-sleeved shirts (even in August), and head out to gather enough berries for a pie. When I got back, I would don an apron and help my mom prepare the pie filling–and was always willing and eager to eat any extra berries that didn’t fit in the pie.

The smell of that pie will always remind me of August at home.

So of course I had to recreate it with our fresh berries. And, of course I had to eat the leftovers for brunch the following morning.

Blackberry Pie (c/o my lovely mother)

  • Pie crust (you can make your own, but I stuck with my mom’s tried and true Pillsbury solution)
  • 2/3 cups sugar
  • 2 T flour or 1/4 cup quick cooking tapioca
  • 1/2 t grated lemon rind
  • 1/2 T lemon juice
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 6 C blackberries

Heat oven to 425 degrees. Line 9″ pie tin with dough. Combine everything but berries.

The finished product

Arrange 1/2 of berries, sprinkle with 1/2 sugar mixture. Repeat. Either place the top crust on the pie, or you can lattice the crust. I had never done a lattice top before, and used this Simply Recipes instruction guide to help me.

Place pie on a cookie sheet to avoid drippage and bake 40-50 minute or until filling is tender and crust nicely browned. If it gets browned too quickly, cover the top with foil until the rest of the pie is done.

The pie is great hot or cold, but make sure you eat it with vanilla ice cream! And make sure you save some for a guilty pleasure brunch!

Warm pie + cold vanilla ice cream = a very tasty brunch dish

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining In, Inspiration, Recipes, To Eat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

