Back to the Races, Back to Basics

I’m baaack!

After a great brunch at CoCo Sala today with some of my lovely college girlfriends, I decided that it was time to get back to brunch blogging. Since that last Campsite Brunch post over a month ago, I’ve still been brunching at home and at restaurants, but my writing mojo has been gone. I promise, though, I’m going to do my best to find it and keep it strong!

To reintroduce myself to the world of brunch blogging, I’m going back to one of the most basic brunch recipes: the frittata.

A frittata is kind of like an omelette’s older, more sophisticated cousin. Like an omelette, you can basically toss any vegetables or meats into the mix–but a frittata always just seems a bit more put together and elegant to me.

The recipe for a frittata is just as flexible as an omelette, but I’ll break down the basics:

- Preheat oven to 325

- In a large skillet, saute up with your veggies with some olive oil on medium heat. I used zucchini, red pepper, tomato, garlic, and sundried tomatoes. Other great additions are asparagus, mushrooms, spinach, or just about anything you can find in your fridge.

- Meanwhile, whisk up your egg whites (or full eggs if you prefer) with a touch of milk or cream, a handful of onions, a handful of cheese of your choosing, and salt/pepper. You’ll need approximately 8-12 egg whites, depending on the amount of veggies/meat you have and the size of your pan. Parmesan and mozzarella both make great frittata cheeses.

- Add the egg mixture to the almost-soft vegetables and stir to combine.

- Pop your pan into the oven and allow to cook for 30-40 minutes, or until the eggs have set.

Partway through the baking process

- Flip your frittata onto a plate and voila!

The finished product

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Menus, Recipes, The Basics, To Eat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to the Races, Back to Basics

  1. frittaataaaa nom nom. I love looking at your blog in the morning, welcome back!! :) I’ve never made a frittata, so I think it’s about time I do that! I still have those mini quiches baked in the muffin pan bookmarked too–choices, choices…

Leave a Reply

