World’s Best Oatmeal

I love work-from-home days (I had one last week thanks to the “thundersnow”), because they mean I have ample time to make a delicious, filling breakfast.

The first meal of the day is absolutely my favorite, and I never skip it. I usually pack something to eat when I get to the office (toast/PB/banana or fruit/yogurt/granola), but when I’m home and have time I really love oatmeal. Even in the summer. And not the instant or microwave kind — the slow-cooked, stovetop variety. I’ve experimented with a lot of toppings beyond the usual brown sugar, and my favorite by far is pumpkin pie oatmeal.

Warm and Comforting

Now, this only works when you can find canned pumpkin (NOT pie filling) at the grocery store, but I tend to stock up so I can use it outside of fall/winter.

  • 2/3 cup rolled oats (not instant)
  • 1 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 spoonfuls pumpkin puree
  • 1 spoonful brown sugar
  • Chopped walnuts and raisins
  • Several sprinkles cinnamon (and pumpkin pie spice, if you have it)

Now, this isn’t an exact science, and every bowl turns out a bit different. You also can experiment with other types of nuts or any other flavors you want. That’s the great thing about oatmeal — it’s a blank slate. And pretty good for you. Plus, pumpkin has great vitamins and minerals and the nuts provide healthy fats and make it filling.  Stay tuned for more yummy oatmeal combos in future posts. In the meantime, if you’re looking for a few options for oatmeal flavors, Kath over at Kath Eats Real Food has some you can choose from.

Also, stay tuned for our review of our great Sunday brunch at Dino with D.C.’s other food bloggers!

This entry was posted in Dining In, Recipes, To Eat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to World’s Best Oatmeal

  1. t. green says:

    try some peanut butter in your oatmeal. TRUST me.

Leave a Reply

