In which Rachel becomes a real runner

If you’ve been following this blog from the beginning, you know that there was some chatter about Emily and my “brunch runs” when we’d go for a run together and then eat a lovely post-workout brunch. Unfortunately, those brunch runs didn’t last very long because I re-learned what I have long known: I am not a runner.

I stair step, I hike, I do yoga and pilates, I eliptical, I lift weights, and I power walk–but I don’t run. Until now. And this is where you guys come in.

I’ve taken on the challenge of running the Virginia Wine Country Half Marathon with the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America’s (CCFA) Team Challenge Program.

CCFA is an amazing organization that raises money to find a cure for Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis–illnesses that effect 1.4 million Americans, young and old. Both can be debilitating illnesses that make daily activities painful and uncomfortable. These days, even young children are being diagnosed and must deal with hospital visits, medication, and a sickness that marks them as “different” from their peers.

I’m running with Team Challenge to find a cure and to make life just a little bit better for those 1.4 million Americans.

While this is a blog devoted to brunch and cooking, I think the beauty of the blogging community is that people are also committed to service and their larger communities–which is why I am asking our loyal readers and fellow bloggers to help the cause. Browse ccfa.org and take a look at my fundraising page.

If you’re able to make a donation, that’s great. And if not, post the link on your blog or Facebook page or Twitter feed. Every penny counts–and the more people who see this post, the more people who will learn about CCFA and the great work they are doing to find a cure and provide a support network for patients.

Thanks to everyone for their support!

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Occasions, Out and About and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In which Rachel becomes a real runner

  1. Pingback: The Power of Social Media « Speed Laces, Amazing Races

Leave a Reply

