Happy National Cereal Day!

cupcakesandcashmere.com

Today, March 7, is National Cereal Today. I think this might be one of my favorite national food days, because who doesn’t like cereal?

I’m not one of those people who has cereal for lunch and dinner, although Special K tells me that I’ll lose lots of weight if I follow their diet and do just that, but I LOVE an overflowing bowl of cereal to kick off the day.

Through the years, my favorite cereal has changed pretty dramatically: back in the day, my heart sung for Lucky Charms; then it was Corn Pops; then Special K with Red Berries; now Honey Nut Cheerios or a hearty granola.

My good friend Megan, who went to a small liberal arts school and lived in a co-op type house, actually knew people who were the designated granola makers. Apparently, every co-op had their own granola recipe and their own official chef.

Unfortunately, I don’t have anyone who’s going to make granola for me (or make my bed or clean my apartment), but that doesn’t mean I can’t make it for myself.

And today, on National Cereal Day, I may do just that!

Marissa, who I went to Duke with, writes a blog Get Off Your Tush and Cook–and has a great healthy recipe. Emily, the well-known Cupcakes and Cashmere blogger, showcases a tasty-looking Food Network recipe. The great thing about granola is that you can add anything you like. Try dried fruits, fresh fruits, nuts, various grains…the list goes on.

What’s your favorite granola ingredient?

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining In, Inspiration, Musings, Occasions, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

