Guilty Pleasure

As Emily alluded to in her history lesson, we never made it to Founding Farmers on Sunday. Our friend Justin is moving to a new apartment, so he had a bon voyage pool party at his current house. Alas, a full day of drinking by the pool followed by margaritas at Cactus Cantina did not leave either Emily or me in fine form for a nice brunch on Sunday morning.

Instead, I opted for the lowest of the low hangover brunch: Panda Express.

My hangover guilty pleasure

I have a history of a love/hate relationship with Panda. Back in middle school, we’d go hang out at the mall and Panda was my go-to food court option. As my tastes matured, though, and I explored other non-mall Chinese cuisines, I left behind my love for Panda and developed a snooty attitude towards the cheap, greasy food. I didn’t even go when they put one in my college’s student center my senior year. I was too good for Panda Express.

And then I got over myself.

I am a foodie. I love good food and exotic concoctions. But I also love junk food. And I’m no longer ashamed to say that every now then I enjoy the greasy chow mein and orange chicken at Panda Express. It’s so bad that it’s good. And that’s perfect when you’re hungover.

Anyway, their signature fortune tells each guest that she is “a connoisseur of food and drink,” so at least I got some validation for my choice 🙂

My life, like all of yours, is an enigma, wrapped in a riddle, shrouded in mystery.

We all have our guilty pleasures, right?


About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining Out, Global, Musings, Occasions, Out and About, To Eat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guilty Pleasure

  1. Lindsay says:

    Hahahaha – ewwwww rach I’m dying.

  2. Mara says:

    i secretly went to panda express too… during finals…. and im not even sorry!

Leave a Reply

