Home Sweet Home

This post is a bit of a departure from our typical brunch pieces, but I couldn’t pass up the chance to take part in sfgirlbybay’s Pin It Forward blogging event. Yesterday, Yellow is the Color submitted her awesome post–and tomorrow Into Blossom will be sharing her interpretation of “what home means to me.”

Home to me means so many things, some of which were tough to translate into images (especially given my creativity deficiency). Since readers come here to read about brunch, I figured I’d at least keep my commentary in the culinary genre and write about “what home means” to me in terms of food.

You can check out my full post at Pinterest here.

What Home Means to Me (in food terms)

Home is eating around the dining room table with my family

One of the many things of my childhood that I hope to emulate when I have a family is the nightly family dinner. Every night (except when sports or social lives got in the way, as they tended to as we got older), my dad’s turn of the key signaled that it was time to turn off the TV, wash our hands, and head to the dinner table. I was responsible for setting the table and my brother was responsible for clearing it. As a little kid, it was hard to sit through all the talk of my parents’ work and of politics, but I valued the time my family got to spend together. As I got older, the conversation morphed as I became a full participant and talked with my parents not only as parents, but as friends. To me, home will always bring to mind our years of family dinners and the quality time we got to spend together.

Bonding through cooking

Now that Dan and I have our own place, I have a second home that’s waiting for its own set of new memories and traditions. One of my favorite times of the day is getting off the metro, meeting him at the grocery store, and heading home to cook together. We both love to cook and experiment with recipes, and it’s so fun being each others’ sous chefs. A meal just isn’t the same unless we’ve both had a part in putting it together. Cooking together and eating side by side on our couch has become my new version of my family’s family dinner.

Home to me means slowing down, appreciating those around us, enjoying good conversation and company, and getting the love and support that we each deserve. Sometimes you can get all of that in a simple meal.

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining In, Musings, Traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Home Sweet Home

  1. Ruth says:

    Uespecially like the family photo with the father dressed in a suit and tie.

  2. Asiye says:

    Lovely post
    reminded me of my child hood,and made me smile, because O and me just had a simple dinner- yes meal time is home!

  3. Tanya says:

    That is SO wonderful. I would love a big kitchen and a cooking partner. Your home sounds magnifique!

    • Rachel says:

      Thanks for checking out the blog, Tanya. I just hopped over to yours and love it! That mosaic idea is SO cool. My boyfriend and I have a HUGE vinyl tree on the wall in our entryway, and it definitely adds a ton of character.

  4. victoria says:

    lovely ideas. thanks so much for joining and contributing such inspirational images!

  5. i love bonding with my husband while cooking! it’s a great time to work together and create some delicious that we can both enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

