National Donut Day

I’m sure you all know that Friday was National Donut Day. Here in D.C., Krispy Kreme was offering one free per customer, and Dunkin Donuts gave away a doughnut with every coffee purchase. Other non-chain bakeries may also have had specials going on.

Donuts get a bad rap, and rightly so. They’re calorie-laden and fattening and full of sugar, but man, are they good. Since I’m from the South, Krispy Kreme makes my donut of choice, and I have great memories of stopping at the nearby drive-thru after Friday night football games to pick up a glazed dozen for Saturday morning.

Here’s my question: does everyone have a donut preference? As in, do you gravitate towards glazed or chocolate-covered with sprinkles or fruit-filled? I always liked Krispy Kreme’s cinnamon-apple variety, but jelly donuts make my stomach turn. And the chocolate glazed are just a little bit too sugary for me. What’s your fave?

The great thing about Krispy Kreme is that you can watch the fresh donuts as they are made, and I’ve always considered the homemade donut to be just out of reach. However, I found this recipe from Kirbie’s Cravings and decided to give it a try.

Photo credit: Kirbie's Cravings

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 tsp corn oil (I didn’t have any, but you can sub olive oil)
  • 4 Tbsp yogurt (vanilla or plain)

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Whisk flour and baking powder in a medium bowl, then combine with sugar. Beat eggs one at a time with milk, oil, yogurt and vanilla until well blended and combine with flour mixture. Lightly spray donut mold pan with oil and pour batter into molds up to 2/3 cup full. [Note: I didn’t have a donut mold, so I used muffin tin. This works just as well, but your donuts won’t have a hole in the middle. I guess if you really wanted you could cut the hole yourself.] Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Glaze with melted chocolate or cinnamon sugar.

Cinnamon-Sugar Donut Holes

These turned out surprisingly good. Not Krispy Kreme-good, but not bad for a baked variety. I used cinnamon sugar, but you could–in theory–fill them with jam or fruit or glaze them with chocolate and sprinkles.

This entry was posted in Recipes, To Eat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

