Deep Fried Brunch

It has now become glaringly clear that my four years in North Carolina had an even bigger impact on my life than I ever could have imagined.

Yesterday, this latte liberal from Northern California bought a deep fryer.

It wasn’t as if I went into the day with the intention to buy a deep fryer. Somehow, though, the universe conspired to force this purchase upon me.

It all started on Sunday with the amazing chicken and waffles at Birch and Barley. This unexpected pairing, which I had surely never eaten in California (and not even in North Carolina), tickled my taste buds and left me craving more. Later that day, I mentioned to my boyfriend how it would be fun to have a deep fryer to make fried chicken–but scoffed at my own idea. Who wants a deep fryer smelling up their apartment? What kind of “healthy eater” deep fries her food? There were so many reasons not to buy one.

And yet I kept thinking about that warm, crispy, fried chicken.

And then Smart Couponing told me it was time to put my concerns aside and take the plunge.

Now, as the proud owner of a Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Deep Fryer, I am already starting to contemplate all of the amazing deep fried food I’ll be able to make–and I couldn’t be more excited.

Since most of you won’t be making french fries, mozzarella sticks, chicken tenders, fried chicken, or deep friend Oreos/Twinkies/Snickers for brunch, I thought I’d leave you with one delicious-sounding brunch recipe that is sure to find its way into my deep fryer.

Until then, stay healthy!

Fried Oysters with Lemon and Balsamic Vinegar (Serious Eats)

  • 1 quart canola oil for frying
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • Fine sea salt
  • Freshly ground white pepper
  • 20 fresh oysters, shucked and drained of their liquor
  • 4 lemons, thinly sliced (20 slices)
  • 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1. Fill a medium saucepan with the canola oil. Clip a deep-frying thermometer to the side of the pan, and heat the oil to 375°F. <<Obviously, if you own a deep fryer like I now do 🙂 then you should prep your deep fryer instead of a regular saucepan>>

2. Place the milk and flour in separate shallow containers. Season the flour with salt and pepper. Dip each oyster into the milk and then into the seasoned flour. Shake off any excess flour.

3. Fry a few oysters at a time in the oil until golden brown, 1 to 2 minutes. Do not crowd the pan, and maintain the oil at a steady 375°F. As they are done, remove the oysters to a plate lined with paper towels to drain. Sprinkle with salt.

4. Lightly crush the lemon slices with a fork. Sprinkle a few drops of balsamic vinegar on each slice.

5. Arrange the lemon slices on a large platter, and place 1 fried oyster on each slice. Serve immediately, so that the breading of the oyster absorbs the lemon and vinegar.

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining In, Musings, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

