Fresh Fruit to the Rescue

Growing up in California, fresh fruit was a staple in our family breakfasts and brunches. My mom, a loyal reader of this blog, has requested that I pay homage to this history with a fruit salad post–which I promise is imminent (Dan and I are going to and orchard this weekend, and I can’t think of anything better to use our bounty for). This post, however, is about how just a hint of fresh fruit can add color and flavor to even the most basic brunch recipe.

I had time to kill yesterday morning before I had to leave for work, so I decided to whip up a quick breakfast for Dan and me. After a quick inventory of our kitchen, I decided to take our leftover French bread from Tuesday night’s dinner to make French Toast (Brunch’s Forgotten Food).

I cracked an egg into a bowl, poured some milk in, added a dash of cinnamon, soaked the bread, and fried up the French toast. I did everything I was supposed to do to make traditional French toast, but it seemed like the dish was missing something. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve been watching too many cooking shows, where they bemoan boring and monochromatic plates, but I knew that I had to add something the dish to bring in a different color and texture.

After dicing up a banana and tossing it on the plate, I knew that the look and flavors were complete. Not only did the banana bring in a bit of another shade, but the flavor worked perfectly with the cinnamon. From here on out, my French toast will always be topped with bananas (or strawberries, or peaches, or plums…).

The great thing about the summer is that farmers markets, and even regular supermarkets, are chock full of amazing fresh fruits that can add a burst of color or flavor to any dish. Take advantage of the season, and make sure that you’re using plenty of fresh fruits in your cooking. It’s definitely worth it!

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining In, The Basics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Fruit to the Rescue

  1. Pingback: Fresh Fruit Galore | Ladies Who Brunch

  2. Moranna says:

    Liked your recipe and will certainly add fresh fruit to my french toast in future!

Leave a Reply

