Poached Egg Practice

I’m a huge fan of eggs benedict, and tend to fall into a rut when I go out for brunch because I have a tough time ordering anything else. Oddly enough, though, I’ve never made eggs benedict on my own. In fact, I’ve never even poached an egg.

Given these deficiencies, I decided it was time to do some research and learn how to poach an egg and make my own Hollandaise sauce. Despite the intimidation I felt at poaching an egg, the entire dish was surprisingly simple.

For a poaching tutorial, I turned to Google and stumbled upon Mr. Breakfast’s site. His instructions seemed easy enough, but it was actually one of the comments that introduced the method that I wound up using. Denise recommended lining a coffee cup or a bowl with Saran wrap, cracking the egg in the plastic wrap, and closing it off into a little baggy. This technique ensured that the eggs stayed together, made them simple to put into and take out of the water, and made it easy to poach multiple eggs at one time. Thanks, Denise!

I filled a pot with 3-4 inches of water, brought it to a simmer, and dropped my little baggies of eggs into the water. After 3(ish) minutes, when the eggs began to float, I took them out with a slotted spoon and unwrapped the eggs from the plastic for my benedict.

The Hollandaise sauce was equally simple. The one tough part was having to see the ingredients and learn exactly how bad it is for you. I used the Food Network recipe, though I cut the amount of butter in half–and it still tasted fine:

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter
  • Pinch cayenne
  • Pinch salt

Whisk the egg yolks and lemon juice together in a small stainless steel bowl until the mixture has thickened. Place the bowl over a small pot of water that is barely simmering (make sure that the water isn’t touching the bowl and that the water doesn’t reach a boil–since you don’t want the eggs to scramble). Continue whisking as you slowly add in the melted butter. Whisk until the mixture has doubled in thickness, remove from heat, add cayenne and salt, and cover until ready to serve.

As you know, a traditional eggs benedict is served with ham on an English muffin. Sometimes, though, you don’t have all of the ingredients at your apartment and don’t want to run to the grocery store in the rain–so improvisation is key! I substituted whole wheat pitas for English muffins and sliced turkey for the ham. After baking my pitas and browning my turkey on the stove-top, I was very pleased with the finished product:

Pita and turkey benedict

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining In, Recipes, To Drink and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poached Egg Practice

  1. Ruth says:

    Love the
    improvisation… It almost makes it California healthy!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Brunch Round-Up | Ladies Who Brunch

Leave a Reply

