Fresh Fruit Galore

As I mentioned in my other fresh fruit posting, I promised my mom that I would write a fruit salad entry for the blog. Growing up, my mom often added a bright fruit salad to our weekend breakfasts/brunches–and so this post is dedicated to her.

Though no one needs a recipe for a fruit salad, sometimes we can all use a reminder on all of the brunch options out there. Personally, I know that I will sometimes bypass this simple treat in favor of more complex brunch recipes as I try to plan a menu.

The great thing about a fruit salad is that you can use whatever fruit you have lying around your refrigerator. Whether it’s half an apple and a banana or a whole slew of fresh produce, by tossing it all together in a bowl you can create a fabulous side dish.

Of course, a fruit salad can also be turned into more of a main course by adding yogurt to the mix or by creating a parfait with yogurt and granola.

My personal favorite fruit salad fruits:

  • Watermelon
  • Grapes
  • Peaches
  • Mango
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries

With peaches and blackberries from our day at the farm (plus grapes, bananas, oranges and apples), this is the fruit salad that Dan and I created for a lovely weekend brunch:

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Best Brunches, Dining In, Musings, The Basics, To Eat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fresh Fruit Galore

  1. Ruth says:

    Thanks — don’t forget the pineapple

Leave a Reply

