The Bread Basket: Banana Nut Muffins

saffronhut.blogspot.com

My family just spent a week at the beach (without me, unfortunately), and one of our traditions for this annual excursion is to make a bunch of batches of muffins. We’ve been going to Hilton Head for 23 years, and some things never change–our putt putt competition, first-night Fuddruckers, Barnes and Noble trips–including pre-beach baking. While I love all three muffin recipes (the other two will be revealed in future posts), I’m pretty partial to banana nut.

I think one of the reasons I love this recipe is that it originally came from my grandmother, and I still have the original recipe card in her handwriting. She was an excellent cook and taught me a lot of what I know when it comes to the kitchen.

Nana’s Banana Nut Muffins

Ingredients

  • 4 large overripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 cups flour
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1 tsp soda
  • 3 tbsp water

Directions

Preheat oven to 350*.  Mash bananas.  Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and bananas to creamed mixture.  Add flour and nuts. Dissolve soda in warm water and add soda water to mixture.  Mix well.  Bake in greased and two  floured loaf pans (or muffin tins–the recipe works for loaves or muffins) for 45 min- 1 hour.

One of the keys to this recipe is to undercook it slightly, which leaves the center soft and gooey. I love a little bit of peanut butter on top. I’ve got a bag of these in my freezer so I at least feel like I got to experience our vacation in a small way–enjoy!

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Musings, Occasions, Recipes, To Eat, Traditions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Bread Basket: Banana Nut Muffins

  1. mode20100 says:

    A+ would read again

  2. Catherine Ray says:

    I am going to make these for Andrew’s first day of work at E+Y tomorrow! What a treat to use GMa’s recipe. Thanks for this!

  3. jackofall says:

    This reminds me of lunch accept, lunch sucked

Leave a Reply

