Campsite Brunch

Brunching

This past weekend, Dan and I took a surprisingly short drive to Shenandoah National Park for a night of camping. Growing up, we used to take a camping trip every year with my parents’ friends and their kids–but it had been a while since I had been camping, and I was itching for a night of campfires and s’mores.

Armed with our tent, sleeping bags, sleeping pads, layers, Yahtzee, beer, and plenty of campfire-appropriate foods, we were set for a terrific vacation!

Clearly, given my slight obsession with brunch, we were going to have to figure out a way to use our campfire and/or grill to produce a brunch of epic proportions. Luckily, we were successful in this goal.

Brewing

First up: COFFEE. After a night of tossing and turning on the hard ground, we were both craving a hot cup of Joe. Luckily, my parents had gifted us a box of their 1980s camping gear–including an old school drip coffee “pot.”

Using our equally vintage kettle, we boiled water over a hot grill, poured the water over the coffee-filled filter, and let the warm coffee fill our mugs and our stomachs. It might not have been Starbucks or Dunkin’, but it definitely hit the spot!

Grilling up our coffee and pancakes

For our main course, we went with a basic pancake–made a bit more complicated by the fact that we were cooking on a grill. Luckily, though, the Bisquick “just add water” mix worked out perfectly, and we enjoyed our golden pancakes with warm syrup. And of course, since we had leftover Hershey’s bars from s’mores the night before, we whipped up a few chocolate chip pancakes that we smothered with peanut butter. Mmm.

Ingredients

After the pancakes, we were both pretty full, but I had one more idea that I had to make happen before we packed up our supplies. Because night-time s’mores on their own didn’t diminish my sweet tooth, I decided to make a peanut butter/s’more sandwich. I grabbed two slices of wheat bread and filled them peanut butter, chocolate chunks, and marshmallow before sticking it on the grill. Clearly a healthy breakfast… Given the heavenly ingredients, I didn’t have any doubts as to how delicious it would be–but let me say that this “recipe” will certainly find its way into my future camping outings.

Open-faced half of the sandwich

I will always have a soft spot in my heart for camping, and it’s a fun excuse to experiment in the “kitchen” and see what sort of grilled and roasted concoctions you can come up with.

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, To Eat, Traditions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Campsite Brunch

  1. Pingback: Back to the Races, Back to Basics | Ladies Who Brunch

Leave a Reply

