Tabard Inn Brunch

Wow, it’s been awhile. In the many months since my last post, I haven’t stopped brunching, but I did take a little hiatus from blogging. But I’m back, or at least making an attempt at it. [Apologies to Rachel, who has made far more of an effort than I to keep this blog going.]

To start, let’s catch up on a few brunch adventures from this past fall.

I’ve been wanting to go to brunch at the Tabard Inn, located in the Dupont hotel of the same name, for a long time, but reservations are hard to come by without some serious advance planning. Well, it was worth the wait. The restaurant is two stories and feels crowded and old and worn–in a good way–with dark wood and huge mirrors and minimal decoration. There’s a bar downstairs and a porch upstairs, which I’d love to experience when the weather warms up. We thankfully walked right in, as even at 1:30 there was a crowd of people waiting in the hotel lobby for a table.

Everything on the menu looked fantastic, but the absolute must is an order of donuts. Cinnamon sugar with whipped cream, fresh out of the oven. Unfortunately we didn’t snap a picture until AFTER they were almost gone!

Delishhhhhh

Next up were oysters–two each on the half shell. I’m a sucker for oysters. I don’t recall where they were from, but man, so good.

Oysters

I’d like to note that our eyes ended up being too big for our stomachs, but on to the entrees. Shrimp and brie omelet served with potatoes and a biscuit and pumpkin French toast served with whipped cream and fruit compote. I think brie and eggs make a strange combo, but the French toast was perfect. Perfect. I’m a lover of all things pumpkin.

Pumpkin French Toast

Apologies for the blue tint to the pictures–the light was coming in from funny directions.

Shrimp Omelet

Verdict on Tabard Inn: worth a return visit. It’s surprisingly moderately priced, and as one of DC’s most storied brunches, I would recommend it. Maybe a good spot for when the parents are in town. And definitely order the donuts!

This entry was posted in Best Brunches, Dining Out, Out and About, To Eat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tabard Inn Brunch

  1. Nikki says:

    First, so glad you’re back Emily! Next, I’m also glad you got to finally try Tabard Inn because it really is one of the best brunches and a wonderful DC landmark. Seriously, those are good doughnuts! Let me know if you plan on going back!!

  2. Pingback: It’s Beginning to Feel a Lot Like Outdoor Brunch Weather | Ladies Who Brunch

Leave a Reply

