Exposed Brick Brunch at Ulah Bistro

We each downed a few of these

This was my second attempt at making it to brunch at Ulah Bistro–and I made it to the restaurant this time around. In my defense, my first reservation was for January 1, 2011. It turns out that making it to brunch was not the top priority for my friends and me on New Years Day.

A few weeks back, though, I tried again. Dan and I rounded up our friends Kristen & Dave for a pre-Superbowl brunch. Because who doesn’t need a few Bloody Marys before a beer-filled football game?

Like Bitches Who Brunch, I immediately fell in love with Ulah Bistro’s great decor and vibe. I’m telling you, I’m a sucker for exposed brick!


The casual atmosphere and quiet music added to the feeling that this neighborhood spot was the kind of place where you didn’t have to worry about rushing through your meal or paying an arm and a leg for your boozy brunch.

Of particular note are Ulah Bistro’s prices. $6 Bloody Marys and entrees in the $9-13 range are two things I can get used to. Especially those Bloody Marys. And the full stalks of celery that come with them.

We each downed a few of these

For my meal, I went with the bacon, egg and cheese sandwich–which was served on a delicious Challah roll. The gorgonzola cheese added a unique, and very welcome, taste to the sandwich, and I really can’t rave enough about the bread.

I only had my iPhone, so please excuse the shoddy picture quality

Dan went for the breakfast burger, served with two strips of bacon, cheddar cheese and a fried egg. Adding a fried egg to a burger reminds me so much of my semester abroad in Argentina, so I was a huge fan of this dish. His burger was cooked to his taste, and he devoured it pretty quickly. The stars of both of our dishes, though, were the french fries. Cooked to a crispy perfection and lightly salted, the fries emptied out pretty quickly. When I had Yelped Ulah before our trip, there were plenty of raving reviews for the fries, and I will certainly verify the validity of those claims!

While Dave opted for a generic dish with eggs (over easy), toast and bacon, Kristen was a bit more adventurous with her Farmers Omelet order–filled with mashed potatoes, cheddar cheese and bacon. Mashed potatoes in an omelet?! Amazing, right? Given the lack of food left on her plate at the end of the meal, I’m guessing that Kristen enjoyed the omelet and the unexpected pairing.

Eggs + bacon + mashed potatoes = YUMM

Ulah Bistro isn’t anything fancy, but that’s what makes it an ideal spot for a casual brunch on a lazy weekend morning/afternoon.

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining Out, Out and About, To Drink, To Eat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

