Weekday Pancakes. Why Not?

The other day, my boss and one of our clients were talking about strange pregnancy cravings. For my boss, it was waffles. For the security guard at our client’s building’s wife, it was 7-Eleven hot dogs and pickles. As someone who has not been pregnant or had a pregnant wife, I didn’t have much to contribute to the conversation–but I expressed a concern that I already have odd cravings; what is going to happen to me when those cravings are intensified via pregnancy??

This week, pancakes were one of those cravings. After having cold pancakes at Emily’s apartment a few weeks back, the fluffy breakfast treats have been on my mind. My original plan was to make them last night, but I didn’t get home from Spanish class until 9:30–and opted for some carrots & hummus and apples & cheese.

Sooo…after my morning run today, I decided that I was going to make pancakes. Yes, on a weekday. And yes, from scratch.

The thing is, it really doesn’t take all that much time or effort to whip up a batch of pancakes. Give yourself 15 extra minutes in the morning, and you’re set. I promise, preparing a nice breakfast will give you some extra energy for the day and brighten up your morning.

Recipe:

Emily pointed me to this Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes recipe–and I made a few alterations to up the fluffy factor (basically, where they call for buttermilk, I used a combination of plain yogurt and non-fact milk):

  • 3/4  cup  all-purpose flour
  • 3/4  cup  whole wheat flour
  • 3  tablespoons  sugar
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  baking powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  cup non-fat plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup non-fat milk
  • 1  tablespoon  vegetable oil
  • 1  large egg
  • 1  large egg white

Mix the dry ingredients together and the wet ingredients together–and stir wet mixture into dry mixture.

From that point on, you should know how to proceed: use cooking spray to grease a hot pan/griddle, plop the batter into rounds, and cook until golden brown.

I didn’t even add butter or syrup to these babies. They’re delicious as it, hot off the griddle!

About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining In, Recipes, The Basics, To Eat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekday Pancakes. Why Not?

  1. Pingback: Buttermilk Pancakes « wiredcoffeeshops

Leave a Reply

