Rachel Goes Vegan

I love meat. And eggs. And dairy.

But sometime, the world conspires against you.

Dan and I got back from vacation a few weeks back, only to find out that our fridge and freezer were dead. A lovely surprise after five days away, I must say.

The next day, though, I had the urge to bake. And lack of butter or eggs wasn’t going to stop me.

So I did some poking around online, and decided to improvise an eggless muffin with whole wheat flour and oatmeal. I figured if I was going to go vegan, I might as well keep it on the healthy side.

What I wound up with turned out to be surprisingly good, especially as a pre-workout muffin before my early morning runs. I popped the muffins in a bag and froze them for easy storage. Now, I take on out in the mornings and heat one for 30 seconds to get my carbo-load in before my runs.The muffins are a bit dense, but the honey, banana, applesauce and cinnamon flavors definitely come through!

In fact, I just whipped up a second batch yesterday!

Mix all ingredients in a bowl; bake at 400 for 20 minutes. Makes 18-20 muffins.

  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • .5 cup brown sugar (unpacked)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • .5 tsp salt
  • .5 tsp vanilla
  • honey (approx 2 Tb)
  • 4 containers applesauce (approx. 2 cups)
  • 1 cup water
  • raisins
  • 1.5 mashed bananas

Muffins. Plus flowers from Dan 🙂


About Rachel

Life is an adventure. Live it.
This entry was posted in Dining In, Recipes, To Eat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment